Motorists in Kansas, like motorists in every other state, are required to hold auto insurance as a legal requirement. There are mandatory areas of coverage required under Kansas state law. The principal requirement is Liability Coverage, which covers your costs if you are deemed to be responsible for an accident. The requirement levels are $25,000 per person for body injury caused, $25,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $10,000 per accident for any property damage caused.
Kansas motorists are also required to have No-fault/PIP protection, uninsured/underinsured coverage, set at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident. This protects you in case you are hit by a driver without insurance, and you may well be glad of this should the worst happen, as you would otherwise be responsible for your own costs, irrespective of whether or not you caused the accident.
For those looking for the lowest auto insurance quotes, what are the factors that companies take into account when determining premium levels? Firstly, underwriting. This is the procedure by which the company determines your application. They will take into account such factors as your employment, income, demographic and driving history. They will also look at your age, gender and the make and model of car to be insured, among other things.
After these factors have been weighed up, they will decide into which category you should be placed. These are often referred to as ‘tiers’, and each insurance company has a different number and different methods of evaluating applicants. There are usually three tiers: Standard, where the applicant is considered to be a moderate risk; Non-Standard, where the driver has a poor driving record, is under 25 years of age, or has been driving for less than two years. Drivers in this category are perceived as high risk, and their premiums will be higher accordingly.
In order to maximise your chances of getting the best deal, ensure that you check a variety of deals before settling on one you might also consider taking the Motor Vehicle Accident Prevention Course, upon which you will receive a certificate of completion. This will go towards marking you as a safe and responsible driver. Be sure to also investigate thuroughly into all options available to you in your are by searching online to find the best providers and quotes specific to you so that you can get the best options possible.